top of page

Senior Pictures

Getting senior pictures done is one of the things I looked forward to most in high school. It is a chance to reflect on the past four years and show off what makes you, you! I have always loved looking at my friend’s senior pictures at grad parties in the past and it was finally my chance to get my own done a few weeks ago.


I am a part of a group called Shelby Seniors, which is ran by Cindy Shultz in her business Shelby Photography. We are a group of 34 seniors based all over central Illinois who get to take super fun photos to help promote her business on social media. In addition to this, we get to have our senior pictures done by her and her assistant Stephanie. Cindy takes a lot of pride in being able to show off what makes each senior unique and highlighting us in the best light possible, but in order to do that there is a lot of prep and planning that must take place.


First off, I had to schedule an outfit consultation a few weeks prior to the actual day we planned on taking pictures. This was in order for Cindy to share her input on what would photograph well versus what wouldn’t be as flattering. Not only this, but she LOVES to accessorize and add her own fun pieces to the clothes that you bring from home. I have to admit I struggled finding options to bring to her, I am not the most fashion forward person. Nervous as I was for my consultation, Cindy was able to help me through it and create 5 different outfits that showcased my personality pretty well!


On the actual day of my pictures I was so excited. It was still sunny and warm outside (almost 90 degrees warm) so I didn’t have to worry about freezing my butt off in dresses and skirts all day. I drove up to her studio around 11 in the morning and that is when the madness began. This super sweet makeup artist started transforming my face and gave me a smokey eye I could only dream of recreating and I got my hair done in these beautiful curls that somehow lasted the entire day through all the humidity which is unheard of for me. Once I was all dolled up it was time to actually start taking some pictures.


We drove all over Peoria from Bradley park, to Downtown all the way back to the Dunlap football field to get the most range out of our session as possible. For each new location we went I had to change into a new outfit which at times proved to be a little difficult but we made it work! We listened to music through a mini speaker and may have gotten a few stares from people passing by but Cindy’s fun and confident nature made me feel totally relaxed and allowed me to have fun while posing in front of the camera.



We finally wrapped up pictures about 7 hours later and I was feeling pretty drained from being in front of a camera all day. You wouldn’t think it would make you as tired as it did but you’d be surprised! Regardless of the exhaustion I still had such a fun day with Cindy and she got some really amazing pictures that highlight what has made my high school experience so special. I cannot wait to look back on them years from now and get to relive the memories I have made over these past four years.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page