top of page

Senior Night

If you have been following my blog posts, you will have noticed the importance that dance team has had on my high school life. It has taken up majority of my time and are some of my fondest memories. More specifically football season dance team. There is just something so exhilarating about being under those lights and getting to pump up the crowd even if it is just for a few minutes. This season has flown by for me, and it has finally come to an end with senior night.


Senior night was one of the things I was looking forward to most this year, it’s such a nice way to recognize all the seniors who contribute to the football experience and show off how much we have done with our time. At the same time I was also dreading it arriving because that would signal the end of dancing at high school football games for me. I wasn’t ready to let go of that part of high school yet.


But when the day came I was a mixture of the two emotions, sad but also excited. I put on my uniform, did the traditional “E

Class of 2020 seniors from Eaglette's football season

aglette’s makeup”, slicked my hair in a bun and drove over to the school. We got to have one last team dinner together and each of the seniors got gifts from the team, it was super thoughtful and made the night even better. By the time we actually got out on the field it was insanely cold, we were all huddled up in blankets. But that didn’t ruin the evening for me or my teammates.


The seven other dance team seniors and I got lined up with the other senior cheerleaders, football players and band members all accompanied with their parents. Waiting in anticipation one by one we walked through the giant inflated eagle as our name was announced to the crowd followed by all the things we participated in during our time at Dunlap. It was really cool getting to see my fellow classmates getting acknowledged for all the things they have done.


Overall, it was a very fun night filled with appreciation and getting to do the thing I love most in one of my favorite places on last time. I will cherish my time dancing on that turf but I’m excited to see where basketball season takes me!

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page